Trendy Table 3 Preview

Hello and Happy New Year!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, but I have a new book that came out a couple weeks ago that I want to share.  If you follow me on Instagram (where I post on a regular basis), you have already seen it – but for those of you who aren’t Instagrammers, I thought I would share the new stuff here too.  

The book is called Trendy Table 3, so it’s part of my series of table runner books.  The first Trendy Table book is out of print, so I needed to have a replacement for it!  Not that I really needed an excuse to do more runners, since they are my favorite type of quilt to make!  The book has 15 new designs and uses many of your favorite Precuts like 5″ squares, 2.5″ strips or Fat Eights.  You can also use our stash.

 

First up is the Nordic Snowflake runner.

 

Here are a few close-ups:

 

I wanted to include at least one topper in the book and this block works great for that shape. I scaled up the pieces for a topper that’s a perfect fit for a round table.

 

 

Continuing with the winter theme, we have Mr. Frosty.  This is one of my favorites from the book and my boys love it too!

 

This one features my “Snowed In” fabric collection from Riley Blake Designs, which will be in stores in May!

 

This one will be available as a kit, which includes the pattern and a keepsake box.  You can preorder yours here.

Next up is Heart to Heart.  I wanted to include lots of seasonal designs in this book, because I love to change out runners for the season.  This one is perfect for the month of February.  

 

This pattern takes one 5″ stacker of Heart and Soul (By Deena Rutter for Riley Blake Designs, aka RBD) and 7/8 yard of the red.

 

For the color option, I used Whinifred Rose by Christopher Thompson for RBD.

 

Next up is a more generic design, for when you are in the mood for something simple and super quick.  It’s called Zig Zag and features my Wildflower Boutique Collection.

 

This design also works for 5″ squares, but you need a charm pack or 5″ stacker with 2 of each print.  Many of Riley Blake’s 5″ stackers are that way, but not all of them.  You could also use a 4.5″ x 8.5″ scrap.

 

This design also looks great in more spring like colors, as you can see below!

I love this collection – It’s called Midsummer Meadow by Katherine Linius, also for RBD.

 

In the book, I also show that design with this grouping.

 

The middle runner from that shot is called Garden Crossing and features my Shades of Summer collection.  The pattern uses a 5″ stacker and a little yardage of the cream and green.  You can find that 5″ stacker and the prints here.

 

The design on the right in the photo below might look familiar and that’s because it’s a scaled down version of my Easy Peasy Plaid quilt, from my Simple Treasures book.  It was one of the most popular designs from that book, so I wanted to make a scaled down version that used a 5″ stacker.

 

This cute fabric collection is called Summer Sweet by Cherri and Chelsi for Moda Fabrics

 

This design looks good in many different fabric combination or background colors.  Here is a version that uses my Snowed In collection.

 

Our last runner for today (watch for part 2 for the rest of the projects), is Flouret.  This is another project using a 5″ stacker.

 

I love this fabric collection!  It’s called Nova by Basic Grey, also for Moda fabrics.  The navy background really makes the prints and flowers pop!

If you don’t want to make this long and skinny version – which is perfect for on top of my TV console – there is a shorter version included in the book too.

This collection is called Sew Retro by Sara Davies, also for RBD.

 

If you like what you’ve seen so far, you can purchase the book here or ask for it at your local quilt shop.  Thanks for stopping by!

 

You can view part 2 of this preview here. 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Trendy Table 3 Preview

  1. Jean says:

    Another great collection. I wish I had time to make them all. I caught Grubers showcase with you last week. Wonderful to see you and Sue.

  2. Therese says:

    Love the book! I purchased one for myself and one for a gift. Can’t wait until Snowed In comes out. I enjoyed seeing you when you did a commentary for Riley Blake Designs.

  3. Julie Delaney says:

    Love them all Heather! Good to hear from you. Hope all is well with you and boys 😊

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Ann in NC says:

    Another great book! Thanks for sharing here for us non-Instagrammers!

  5. Chookyblue says:

    The runners look lovely once again you did some great designs…….

  6. Jennifer says:

    Those are all beautiful. I think part of what makes them so amazing is the quilting job you do on them. Wow!

  7. Pingback: Trendy Table 3 Preview – Part 2 | Trends and Traditions

  8. Becky Drnas says:

    Do you know of any quilt stores that are going to do a BOM of these table toppers like Stitchin Heaven did with book 2?

Leave a comment