Rebel Roses

Happy Monday!  I trust you all had a good Thanksgiving, ate way too much, and enjoyed the day or two off from work.  I’m sure many of you enjoyed Black Friday bargain shopping too, but I steered clear of any malls!  I am too impatient to wait in long lines.  All I can think about, is that I could have had 50 half-square triangles made in the time I’ve been standing here!  I also have trouble getting up at 4:30 to go stand in line (and freeze – I do live in Minnesota, after all).  In addition to all of the Thanksgiving parties and eating, we also had a birthday party to go to this weekend for Joel’s niece Kara.

dsc_0015-adjusted

As you can see, she just turned two.  That’s her Mom with her there in the picture (Joel’s sister)

dsc_0020

She needed help blowing out the candle – and with eating those cakes!

dsc_0058-adjusted

This is what I gave her for her birthday – though she doesn’t sit still long enough to get a good picture.  That’s what happens when you feed her cake (sugar) and then give her new and exciting presents!

Here’s a picture of the sweater when it wasn’t moving:

 keras-sweater1

Remember the sweater that I made for my niece Addi?

I used that pattern (Helena) and combined it with this pattern (Mr. Greenjeans) (both from www.knitty.com) to come up with the variation that I knit for Kara.  I have to say I love that this pattern uses the top down method.  It’s great because you have no seams to do when you are done.  Seaming is just not my favorite part – when I’m finally done knitting, I want to be done, not spend the next four hours sewing up the side seams.  I am also loving doing these small projects.  I used to only knit sweaters for myself and it would take me all winter to do a couple.  With these smaller projects, I can do one each month and feel like I am getting more done (plus they don’t have to fit me, when I’m done).  For the quilters who are reading this, it’s like doing table runners or small wall hangings, instead of queen size quilts.  I love instant gratification . . . . or almost instant gratification.

 

One of the other things I promised I’d show you is the new fabric line that I have coming out early next year.  It’s called Rebel Roses and I have to clarify that I did this line with my mom.  We each worked on  different prints, each picking what we felt more comfortable doing – For example, I like to paint and she likes to draw.  Here are some photos of the sell cards that the sales rep show to the shops.

rebel-roses-1

rebel-roses-2

rebel-roses-3

Here’s a shot at the first set of strike-offs (once all of the computer work is done in the states, it goes overseas to Korea and they test it on fabric.  This is called a strike-off).  After the first set of strike-offs, I make a list of changes and then they will send over another round of strike-offs. 

rebel-roses-strike-offs

After all of the strike-offs are approved, then the fabric gets printed.  After the printing is completed, it gets loaded on a cargo ship for a two month journey across the ocean.  After it arrives in the states, it is then rolled onto bolts and shipped out to stores.  This process takes a while, so they usually send five yards of fabric by airmail, so I can get started sewing and have some completed projects done by the time the stores get it.  I’m supposed to have yardage in the next week or two (happy early Christmas to me!).  I’ll keep you posted on what I make out of it.  In the meantime, here’s what the free project will look like: (it will be available at www.henryglassfabrics.com shortly – see the link on my sidebar).

rebe-roses-free-pattern

Henry Glass also put together this nice magazine add for me – Hopefully you will be seeing it soon 🙂

reb-roses-add

This is all just a teaser, as fabric is expected in Jan/Feb.  I’ll keep you posted on when to find it in your local quilt shop.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Family, Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Rebel Roses

  1. Stephanie says:

    GORGEOUS new line. I spy a rick rack stem. :o) I think this will be a big seller.

    Darling little ones. I don’t knit but I sure admire the projects.

    Well I went out on Black Friday to stock up on yards and yards of snuggily flannels for pillowcases.

  2. Maria says:

    The sweater is darling. Nice combo! And I know I haven’t seen you nearly enough when I see a new fabric line show up. Can I just tell you I love it???

  3. Nicole says:

    Kara and her mommie are gorgeous! That child has the prettiest eyelashes I have ever seen. The baby sweaters are fantastic–better than anything you could buy at the store.
    And as to your new fabric line….I am destined to buy loads of it since red and green is my favorite color combination. The diagonal check is perfect. You sure do have a creative family!

  4. Carrie P. says:

    The new fabric line is beautitul.

  5. pam says:

    Love the new line, very pretty. Kiddo pictures are wonderful, love those knitted projects.

  6. Linda says:

    Oh, yum!!! Pink cake!!!
    That new line looks so cheerful in any color way – I love it!!
    I don’t knit, but it is on my learn to do list – and I really admire all that you have shown us so far!!
    Thanks, Heather for sharing!!

  7. Auntie Pami says:

    This is so pretty! I agree, I see rick rack in my future. Cute, cute little girls!

  8. Christine says:

    Kee-yoot…I LOVE the fabric. I’m not very creative on my own so I would probably make whatever you make with it.

    The 2-year-old baby pics are darling, too. We’ll be celebrating a 4-year-old birthday in 2 weeks. More presents right before Christmas!

    I like your blog and check it regularly.

  9. Linda says:

    Oh my, what a stunning range of fabrics. What an amazing talent you and your mum have. Now that was a real tease, and keeping us waiting so long until we can get our hands on some….

  10. barbara says:

    The new line is to die for!!! I can hardly wait to get my hands on it. Great job as always.

  11. Marianne says:

    Love your new fabric line! Yum, yum, yum! Can’t wait to get my hands on some.

  12. Kate says:

    Gorgeous fabric! Love the colours.

  13. averyclaire says:

    Ditto to all of the above! Love the sweaters, love the fabric…can’t wait to see it in person.

  14. diane says:

    Pretty pretty fabric! I hope I get some cottage charm before this comes out! Your knitting is awesome, I just don’t know how people do that!

  15. Cathy says:

    I got a kit from the Fatquarter shop with your last fabric and can see that I will have to have your new fabric also. It is just beautiful!! Hopefully, Kimberly will do a kit with this pattern also.
    C

  16. Love all the colors in the new fabrics 🙂

  17. Julia says:

    Heather – CONGRATULATIONS – to your mom, too! What a fabulous new fabric line…it’s gorgeous! And you did such a great job in designing the free project – how could anyone resist those ric rac flowers???
    I’m so impressed that you’ll also knit among all the other work you do…the little sweater makes me wish to be small(er) again *grin*.
    Hugs, Julia

  18. funnysunnyfish says:

    A new line?! I thought I just bought 7 yards of your new line?! I can’t sew fast enough to keep up with your fabric.
    I love the new line too. It looks like the colors will go well with Cottage Charm I got for Lizzy’s room. I have to get crackin on her duvet cover- it’s for Christmas!
    It’s fun to see what you and your mom came up with together. 🙂

  19. How adorable is Joel’s niece…their family does good work…tee, hee.

    Totally love Rebel Roses….but what else would I expect from you.

    Take care,
    Jere’e

  20. Kathleen says:

    Love the sweaters. Don’t knit, but appreciate the talent.
    CAN’T WAIT to get my hands on your new fabric line. It’s beautiful. I love putting red/yellow/chocolate together.

  21. Pingback: Fabric preview: Rebel Roses · Needlework News @ CraftGossip

  22. Heather!!
    I just bought some of your line that is out now (cottage charm) and I LOVE IT!!! I am a very red and yellow girl and those fabrics just spoke to me! I love the new line too. It looks like the new will go with the “old” (hate to say that because it is new to me) am I right?
    Mary

  23. krista says:

    I want to buy a bolt of each fabric! I soooooo love it! COngrats on selling it!

  24. CJJ says:

    LOVE this new fabric and I will be on the lookout for it. I can’t wait to see what YOU make with it.

Leave a comment