Harvest Time

So I have really been in the mood to making some new fall quilts.  Since I brightened and lightened my living room, none of my old fall quilts match.  Over the weekend, I made this one.  I thinks it’s a nice combination of modern colors with some traditional blocks and applique.

DSC_7957 adj

The applique is done by machine.  I use brown top stitching thread to achieve that hand-done look.  Raise your hand if you like houndstooth pumpkins!

DSC_7959 adj

(by the way all of these fabrics are from my stash.  The orange houdstooth is from my fishy line and can be found here).

This is a remake of an older pattern.  It’s been one of my most popular design and is still selling 10 years after its original publishing date – though we are almost out of the original patterns.  After making this new color combo, I decided we should keep the pattern going and just print up new fronts using the new quilt.

DSC_7958 adj

Here is what the original quilts look like:

The original pattern has two size options, so I remade the smaller size too.

DSC_7952 adj

DSC_7955 adj

The border fabric is from an older Sandy Gervais line called Frolic.

DSC_7954 adj

The paper pattern will be available for shipping next week.  The PDF is available now and can be found here.  You can find the paper pattern for order here, though it won’t ship out till next week.

Now I am in the mood to make some more fall quilts!!!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Fabric Trends, Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Harvest Time

  1. MaryAnn says:

    Amazing what fresh new fabric does for an already adorable design. Totally updated.

  2. Marsha Nelson says:

    I really love the new colors. This quilt is so fresh and cute. And you made it in a weekend? Wow.

  3. Karen Lange says:

    Ohhhhh…….how beautiful these are! The new colors are great. Bet this new quilt looks wonderful in your living room.

  4. Love the little quilt with the Frolic. I’m using up the last of my stashed Frolic to make a cute baby quilt.

  5. Joan says:

    I love both quilts, but the new colours are so pretty, especially the aqua. Thanks for sharing.

  6. connandvansmom says:

    These are sew gorgeous. Love them.

  7. jknath1kim says:

    Love this so much, the colors are wonderful!

  8. marie says:

    Wow——love the pattern, but most amazing is that I have all the fabric in my stash shown in the orignal quilt. Some of them I hate to use as then they would be gone.

  9. Very sweet! I really like the orange houndstooth fabric. ~Fun!

  10. treadlemusic says:

    Love the “updated” version……the use of quilting stitches is definitely “today” and it creates awesome texture!!! Definitely a “keeper”!!! Hugs…….

  11. Donna P. says:

    Heather, this pattern is cute but now it is really cute in the new colors. I really like this and the quilting is beautiful.

  12. Shelly says:

    Love the new one! Isn’t it amazing what different fabrics can do to a pattern? As always Heather, so talented! Thanks for sharing!

  13. Chris says:

    Heather, I LOVE them all! I can’t believe you did one in a weekend, with a baby to watch as well. 🙂 Great job in using stash fabric to make such an adorable quilt.

  14. Linda P says:

    I actually do have this pattern and STILL want to make it – maybe I can still get it done (or just the top by the end of fall). Looks so cute in the updated fabrics also. I’ll be busy getting more fall items out next week – I’m a bit late………

  15. ColleenM says:

    Beautiful! I love the old and the new:)

  16. Absolutely love this!! Love, love, LOVE!!

  17. Cindy Hagen says:

    Even tho I loved the ‘old’ colors, the new ones are really inspiring!

  18. Absolutely stunning! Beautiful colours and a stunning quilt design. Thank you for the inspiration!

  19. Pingback: Summer Stars and a Give-Away | Trends and Traditions

  20. Tatkis says:

    Beautiful, bright quilts full of autumn spirit! Fantastic!

    Hugs,
    Tatyana

  21. Debbie Ragsdale says:

    You could make this in red and green, or blue and silver with a Christmas applique motif. So cute!

Leave a comment