Moroccan Tiles

Continuing where I left off on Monday – the next new pattern is Moroccan Tiles.

I have been totally obsessed with geometric patterns lately.  My favorite place for geometric patterns is in rugs and pillows.  Case in point – I recently replaced the large floral rug in my dining room with this geometric rug.

DSC_3439 adj best

I also put a little geometric rug in my upstairs bath.  I was particularly taken with this pattern and thought it could be made into a quilt.

DSC_4413

After doing lots of experimenting, playing with sizes and layout, I came up with this design:

132852_ANK309 adj

Here’s a close-up of the blocks:

DSC_7559 adj

The fabrics are from Bonnie and Camille’s new line from Moda called Scrupmtious.  I used a fat eighth pack, though fat quarters will also work.

DSC_8060

The darker version is done with my Summer House fabrics.

DSC_7586 adj

I think this shot really shows how the colors pop off that background fabric, emphasizing the tile effect.

DSC_8052 adj

The quilt uses a combination of piecing and applique.  I originally designed it to have a pieced version, but dropped it because it just wasn’t nearly as cute without the curves.

DSC_7946

I used the starch-mylar method for my applique.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with that method, it is a super quick way to turn the edges under.  You use heat-resistant plastic (mylar) and your finger, brush, or q-tip to lightly apply the starch to the edge of the applique, then use the tip of the iron to fold the fabric over the edge of the plastic.  I then machine appliqued the shape to the background using a small zig zag and nylon thread.   This is a super simple curve to applique.  It’s actually quicker to do the applique part of the block, then it is to do the pieced part of the block!

DSC_8056 adj

That’s all for today.  Here are the links to the paper pattern and the PDF.

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Moroccan Tiles

  1. Kitty says:

    LOVE your Moroccan Tiles pattern, Heather!! Both the Scrumptious and the Summer House version are soooh beautiful!!

  2. Joan says:

    Beautiful quilts! Love your new pattern!

  3. diana says:

    the little quilt at the top with diamonds what is the pattern I love it

    • Ginny says:

      I also love the diamond quilt with this pattern, never seen it before, what is the name of the pattern so I can order it.

  4. Very clever pattern! Love it in both versions too!

  5. Cindy Martin says:

    OMGoodness, that is the most wonderful quilt pattern . . . I love it so much! Can I quit my full time job so I have time to pursue quilting more than every summer when school is out? I love it!

  6. Chris says:

    Beautiful! Just beautiful!! Hey could you come decorate my house?! 🙂

  7. Janet Adair says:

    The dark background really makes the colors come alive.

  8. Sam says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, I love both versions.

  9. Kim says:

    Your color choices, pattern designs and quilting are top notch. I am very impressed. I don’t quilt but I love looking at your work. It seems like you get a lot accomplished in a small amount of time. Do you do your own machine quilting or is that done by someone else so you can focus more on color and design?

  10. Ruth B says:

    Love the tiles and I love that you used a fat eighth bundle. Nice to know how far a bundle can go. Also want a rug like the green one you bought!

  11. Johanna says:

    Wow! It simply looks amazing!

  12. Sue Benson says:

    OMG Heather, you are truly amazing. I adore your work and this new pattern is simply gorgeous. I especially love the darker version. Love love love. Where do you find the time.

  13. Betty says:

    I really like this pattern. Will it work with heat and bond method too?

    • Yes, there is no reason it wouldn’t. I would recommend not leaving the fusible in the entire half circle, bur trim the glue out of the middle leaving just 1/4″ of glue around the edges. That way the appliqué shape will stay nice and soft. Even the light-weight fusible a tend to make the fabric a little stiff and pucker funny.

  14. Jean says:

    The bath rug has the same design as the first kitchen floor in out house. Repeat was smalled and tiles were brick red. What goes around comes around!

  15. Marsha Nelson says:

    I love this new pattern. So cool to do the applique for the half circles. Great.

  16. Kay Mc says:

    Love this new pattern & can’t decide if I like the dark or light version better. I think I am leaning towards the dark version & using red for the background.

  17. Carrie says:

    You’re a genius! Your quilt is terrific – I love it… every version of it.

  18. Pingback: More New Patterns | Trends and Traditions

  19. kbsdesigns says:

    Such a fun pattern!

Leave a comment