Trendy Table Size Options

I did a post earlier this month on changing the size on some of the runners in my Trendy Table book.  It was kind of fun to see how the designs looked on a larger scale, so I decided to do the remaining projects from the book.  (If you missed the first post, click here).  As I mentioned in that post, I’m not very skilled at making digital quilts, but hopefully it will help you visualize the blocks in a different way.  This time, rather than just laying a few runners next to each other, I tried to come up with more unique layouts.

 

First up, Sorbet.  The original runner looks like this –

DSC_3029 2812 black desat carpet lighter 3

 

DSC_2704best copy

 

For my larger layout, I envisioned it as a table-cloth type quilt.

sorbet size option

 

 

Next up is Fusion.  Here is the original:

DSC_2929

 

For this one, I wanted to see a border of the blocks around a plain center.  With this layout, I like how graphic the blocks are and I didn’t want to take away from that by laying them next to each other.  The plain center preserves the graphic nature of the quilt – and you will have to envision some fancy quilting in that center.

Fusion size option

 

Now Rock Candy –

DSC_3134 adj

 

DSC_2688 copy

For my size option, I just make the runner and added two extra blocks to the width.

rock candy size option 1

 

I also did one with the two outer blocks positioned differently and added a border.

Rock Candy size option 2

Lastly, I have the Tango Runner.

DSC_2158 2190 adj

 

DSC_2666 copy

If you separate the runner in half vertically, and turn the direction of one block (the orange one in the photo below), you get a topper.  In fact, if you follow the directions as written, you will get two toppers.

Tango size option

 

 

If you are interested in purchasing the book, please click here.  Thanks for stopping by today!

 

About Heather Peterson

Quilt pattern designer
This entry was posted in Machine Quilting, Pattern of the Week, Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trendy Table Size Options

  1. Pam Peterson says:

    Interesting to see the enlarged versions! Thanks for this.

  2. Ruth says:

    I love these so much! Thank you for sharing!

  3. Tina McNamara says:

    These are great ideas! thanks! I especially like the “Tango” table mat. The center portions of the “Sorbet & Fusion” table toppers would be a great place for some applique. Thanks again for the ideas.

Leave a Reply

